With the fishing season well underway and the realistic prospect of a fish now, I thought it would be worth while reminding all anglers what the Scottish Government has categorised each Ayrshire river and what this means for the angler on the river.

Ayr Category 3 (mandatory catch and release)
Doon Category 1
Girvan Category 2
Garnock Category 2
Irvine Category 3 (mandatory catch and release)
Stinchar Category 1

See the link to the Governements website if you are in any doubt; http://www.gov.scot/Resource/0053/00531117.pdf